Skip Navigation

Library Website Account

Welcome Anonymous.

Article Resources for History

Visit our Subject Guides to find suggested resources and starting points for your research project
Electronic Restricted Access

A multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Coverage 1975-present; varies by title.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

A distributor of African news and information worldwide.  AllAfrica is one of a family of companies that aggregate, produce and distribute news from across Africa to tens of millions of end users.

An international, collaborative initiative building a digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. Today there are three collections that are made available to educational, research, and cultural institutions around the world.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage.

Internet Only Free/Public Access

Eyewitness accounts document over 800 years of history.  More than 18,000 pages make American Journeys an exceptional resource for the study of American history and culture.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.

Free/Public Access

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

Electronic

Contains profiles of newsmakers and figures of prominence from a wide range of fields from ancient times to the present. (Wilson) VALE

Electronic

More than 177,000 full text biographies from a wide range of source.

Electronic

Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.  Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Dred Scott petitioned the St. Louis Circuit Court for his freedom in April 1846. Although he briefly won freedom on the basis of his former residence in Illinois and Wisconsin territory, appeals to the Missouri Supreme Court by his owner Irene Emerson returned him to slavery in 1852. His advocates refused to accept the decision as final.

Electronic

Provides assess to both CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly.  Both titles will be listed on the home screen under the 'Periodicals' heading.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news with controversial topics addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner. Coverage 1923 to present.

CQ Weekly

Only CQ Weekly reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Credo Reference provides a complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.

Restricted Access Internet Only Electronic

Provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified, primary source government documents. Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.

Restricted Access Electronic Campus Use Only

A full text database which contains more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. 

Campus Use Only Internet Only

The term American studies encompasses a vast range of disciplines, all of which, describe the cultures of the United States. In recent years comparative studies of Canada and Latin America have been incorporated.

This eJournal is only available from computers on campus.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Small collection at this time, but steadily growing. Includes hundreds of Civil War photos and a slide show of images on the theme of racial stereotypes.

GPO

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

U. S. Government Publications

Electronic

Database of primary source materials from 1972 forward. Approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of each year are presented.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Abstracts of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present.

Electronic

Access to thousands of books articles reports, biographies, maps and photos.

Electronic

An index to articles published 1907 – 1984 in the humanities and social sciences.  This database contains citations only, no full text.

Internet Only Electronic

In the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of more than 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

A not-for-profit research project created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). This resource currently consists of six different databases.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Archive of full-text journal articles in African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, Classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, geography, history, languages and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, Music, Philosophy, Political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

“should always be consulted when looking for images relating to US history.”

Internet Only Free/Public Access

A digital library of more than 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas included education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Made possible by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history-from mid-15th century to the present.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access
Over eight million photos and graphic images, plus five million images in Presidential Libraries, and nine million aerial photos.
Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

A good source for popular culture materials. Images can be searched by keyword, but subject categories can simply be browsed.

Electronic

The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 55,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are 24 complete collections, each offering specialized insights. Integrated, they allow you to explore policy across several different areas at once. New collections are published annually by ProQuest and the National Security Archive.

Internet Only Free/Public Access

An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. The Archive won the 1999 George Polk Award, one of U.S.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Some of the collections: Africana and Black History, from 16th C to present; After Columbus: 400 Years of Native American Portraiture; Turn of the Century Posters; Picturing America, 1497-1899; Prints, Maps, and Drawings Bearing on the New World; A New Nation: The Thomas Addis Emmet Collection of Illustrations Relating to the American Revolution and Early US History.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access Printed Copy

Full text access to the newspaper’s articles (1999 – present)

Restricted Access Electronic

Presents PDF pages of the newspaper, preserving the visual sense of the publication. (Proquest)

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Part of Documenting the American South, "includes all known autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves in the United states to 1920."

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

A multimedia online archive spearheaded by the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum in Austin, Texas, the collaborative effort presents interactive timelines of each president’s life that include documents, diaries, maps, photo galleries, audio recordings, video clips.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Full text database of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. JStor can be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Personal Database and Bibliography Creator (Rowan Univ. account required) Tutorial

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

A searchable database with information on American portraits in public and private collections in the US and abroad.

Internet Only Free/Public Access

Sources: A National Library of Ireland database for Irish research, contains over 180,000 records for Irish manuscripts, and articles in Irish periodicals. Search the National Library's manuscripts cataloged to the 1980s; Irish manuscripts held in other libraries worldwide from the 1940s to the 1970s. Included as well is an Index to articles, reviews and other content contained in over 150 Irish periodicals (download a full list of the journals ) up to 1969.

Federal legislative information since 1995 made available by the Library of Congress.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Covers the years from 1889 to 1987 and is presented in PDF files. More recent issues are available in ABI.

Electronic

Covers international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. 1975 – current.

Syndicate content

Database Access Legend

  • Campus Use Only Campus Use Only
  • CD-ROM Only CD-ROM Only
  • Electronic Electronic
  • Free/Public Access Free/Public Access
  • Internet Only Internet Only
  • Library Access Only Library Access Only
  • Printed Copy Printed Copy
  • Restricted Access Restricted Access

Find e-Journals

Citation Linker


Rowan UniveristyHome | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Rowan University | Campus Portal | Library Staff

For questions and issues regarding the library website and/or online services please email us