Skip Navigation

Library Website Account

Welcome Anonymous.

Article Resources for Music

Visit our Subject Guides to find suggested resources and starting points for your research project
Electronic Restricted Access

A multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Coverage 1975-present; varies by title.

Electronic

Streaming audio of classical music recordings from over 32 labels with searching available by composer, performer, instrument, genre, historical period, or label. Includes anthology playlists designed to accompany the major music history and appreciation textbooks.

Electronic

Continuously updated web version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed., 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed., 2002). Articles include bibliographies and composers’ works lists. Includes links to related sites, sound archives, illustrations.

Electronic

Indexing and abstracts for many international music periodicals with some coverage from 1874. Full text for over 110 journals with current file and backfile coverage going back to the first published issue for a number of core music journals. Subjects covered: history, education, performance, composition, theory, ethnomusicology, popular music.

Electronic
emusicquest provides The Music-In-Print Series® database for subscribers to search online - Sacred and Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Organ, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Chamber, Band, Brass, Handbell, Harp, Percussion, Recorder, Jazz, and Popular Music In Print!
Electronic
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals covering all styles and genres of classical and popular music using an internal subject-author guide. Cites book reviews, obituaries, news and articles about music, musicians, the music industry. Online coverage extends from 1976 through the present.
Electronic
Online version of the Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts. Includes detailed listings of worldwide arts organizations, including key contact information. Artists are indexed in alphabetical and categorical indices. Categories include artist managers, orchestras, opera companies, concert series, festivals, competitions, music schools and departments, record companies, facilities, services and products, and more.
Electronic

Provides streaming audio of music recordings, including over 455,000 tracks and 32,135 discs, and 132 record labels. Genres include classical, jazz, folk, and some non-western world music.

Electronic

Streaming audio service providing nearly 20,000 tracks of jazz, blues and R&B from Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz including Prestige, Debut, Riverside, Stax, Volt, Specialty, and Pablo, along with Prophone and Proprius. Covers international jazz.

Electronic

An encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. Includes the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, the Library of African Music, and the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology.

Syndicate content

Database Access Legend

  • Campus Use Only Campus Use Only
  • CD-ROM Only CD-ROM Only
  • Electronic Electronic
  • Free/Public Access Free/Public Access
  • Internet Only Internet Only
  • Library Access Only Library Access Only
  • Printed Copy Printed Copy
  • Restricted Access Restricted Access

Find e-Journals

Citation Linker


Rowan UniveristyHome | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Rowan University | Campus Portal | Library Staff

For questions and issues regarding the library website and/or online services please email us