Skip Navigation

Library Website Account

Welcome Anonymous.

E-Resources A-to-Z

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W Y All
Visit our Subject Guides to find suggested resources and starting points for your research project

ABI/INFORM Global

(plus Dateline, Trade & Industry, Banking Informatin Source Hoover's, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and McClatchy Tribune - Business News)
Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Index to articles on business and management topics from over 1800 US and international periodicals. Full text of many articles available.

Electronic Restricted Access

A multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Coverage 1975-present; varies by title.

Electronic Restricted Access

Index to publications of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and affiliated computer science organizations. Full text available for ACM journal and magazine articles. (ACM) VALE

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

A distributor of African news and information worldwide.  AllAfrica is one of a family of companies that aggregate, produce and distribute news from across Africa to tens of millions of end users.

An international, collaborative initiative building a digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. Today there are three collections that are made available to educational, research, and cultural institutions around the world.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Index to chemistry journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Full-text available for journal titles to which Rowan University subscribes. (ACS) (includes Option B)

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage.

Internet Only Free/Public Access

Eyewitness accounts document over 800 years of history.  More than 18,000 pages make American Journeys an exceptional resource for the study of American history and culture.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Index to physics journals published by the American Physical Society (APS). Full-text available for journal titles to which Rowan University subscribes (APS)

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.

Electronic

Index to review articles in a number of areas of science and some social sciences. Full text available from some Annual Review titles.

Anthropological Index Online

The Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute
Internet Only Free/Public Access

The resource covers journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum.  All brances of anthropology are covered.  See a more detailed description on the website.

Electronic

Index to periodicals in applied science and technology, with full text available for many articles. (Wilson) VALE

Electronic

Provides full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Indexing extends back to 1984; full text back to 1997. Includes indexing of art reproductions and exhibition reviews. (Wilson) VALE

Electronic

Searchable database of journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Full text coverage began in 1995. (ASCE)

ASM

American Society for Microbiology Journals
Electronic

Provides full text access to 11 journals published by the American Society for Microbiology.

ASME

American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Electronic

Full text access to journals published from 2000-present by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). Table of Contents and Abstracts may be browsed for journal back issues (prior to 2000). (ASME)

ASSIA

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly; 1987 to current. (CSA) VALE

Free/Public Access

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

Electronic

Contains profiles of newsmakers and figures of prominence from a wide range of fields from ancient times to the present. (Wilson) VALE

Electronic

Offers a list of commonly available reference books containing articles on the person you specify. A paper listing of which of these reference books we have at Campbell Library is available at the Reference Desk. (Thomson/Gale)

Electronic

More than 177,000 full text biographies from a wide range of source.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains more than 10 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.

Electronic

Index to periodicals in biological sciences and agriculture, with full text available for many articles. (Wilson) VALE

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

The electronic counterpart of Birds of North America, which was completed in 2002 as a joint project among the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, American Ornithologist’s Union, and Academy of Natural Sciences. (BNA)

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Printed Copy Electronic

Contains excerpts from and citations to reviews of more than 8,000 books each year, gleaned from coverage of 109 publications beginning in 1983-. (Wilson) Paper, 1905-1960-w/bound, level 1 1961-1996- Room 219 bookshelves.

Electronic

Searchable database of over 14.8 million English and Spanish language book, audio book, and video titles. (Bowker) VALE

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

BSC contains full text from nearly 3,000 quality publications and includes top management journals. Additional sources include more than 1,400 country economic reports from various quality sources, more than 10,000 substantial company profiles; and more than 5000 industry reports.

Electronic

This business database provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via (EBSCOhost

Electronic

Offers indexing and abstracts for 350 scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. Includes searchable cited references for journals including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics. (Ebsco) NJKI

Electronic Restricted Access

Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities. Each directory helps you select those journals that are most likely to publish your manuscript. Subject areas include accounting, economics, finance, management, marketing, education, and psychology.

Electronic

Search the CGP for all e-publications of the Government Printing Office

Indexed full text for bibliographic information including the abstract, descriptions, and reviews.

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Based in Washington, D.C., The Chronicle has more than 70 full-time writers and editors, as well as 17 foreign correspondents around the world.

Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.

Electronic

Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.  Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies.

Electronic

Streaming audio of classical music recordings from over 32 labels with searching available by composer, performer, instrument, genre, historical period, or label. Includes anthology playlists designed to accompany the major music history and appreciation textbooks.

Electronic

The CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference materials in cognitive science.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world.

Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years.

Electronic

Provides research in areas related to communication and mass media. There is full-text for more than 240 journals and coverage of over 600 titles. Some articles date back to 1915.

Restricted Access Electronic Campus Use Only

A financial database that allows you to search for North American companies using various criteria. See Worldscope for international coverage. No new data is being added.

Electronic

A searchable database of full-text research reports from 1998 forward on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM etc.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Dred Scott petitioned the St. Louis Circuit Court for his freedom in April 1846. Although he briefly won freedom on the basis of his former residence in Illinois and Wisconsin territory, appeals to the Missouri Supreme Court by his owner Irene Emerson returned him to slavery in 1852. His advocates refused to accept the decision as final.

In November 1999, at the request of the St. Louis Circuit Court, the documents from the original 1846 case were brought to the Office of the Secretary of State for conservation treatment. The Archives Division has the state's only publicly-funded conservation laboratory, which treats the most significant documents from the State Archives and other government offices in Missouri.

Electronic

Contains biographical information on authors (including novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction and fiction writers, etc) who have published English language works from the twentieth century to present.

Electronic

Provides assess to both CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly.  Both titles will be listed on the home screen under the 'Periodicals' heading.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news with controversial topics addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner. Coverage 1923 to present.

CQ Weekly

Only CQ Weekly reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week.

How? The CQ news team - by far the largest on Capitol Hill, with more than 100 reporters, editors and researchers - covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else. Coverage 1983 to present.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Credo Reference provides a complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.

Electronic Printed Copy

Contains in-depth abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide. Covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. Coverage 1968 – current. (CSA) Paper 1978-present, w/bound, level 1

Electronic

Provides coverage on criminal justice topics. Some journals provide full-text, and others are indexed with abstracts. Coverage 1981-present

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Coverage varies by title, but earliest is 1976.

Electronic

Gives current, in-depth information on the customs, culture, traditions and ways of life of people in 15 other countries.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Provides a library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Provides a library of printable teacher-handout material and other content geared for elementary-level students.

Restricted Access Internet Only Electronic

Provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified, primary source government documents. Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.

Electronic

Contains more than 1.3 million citations and abstracts of U.S. , Canadian, and European doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format by requesting a free download and 24 page previews are available.

Electronic

The Digital National Security Archive contains a comprehensive collection of primary documents. The database includes declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.

Restricted Access Internet Only Electronic

Index to articles published in the economics field from 1969 to the present. Links to full text available for articles in journals to which Rowan University subscribes.

Electronic

Index to articles from periodicals in all areas of education. Coverage: 1929 to date. Full text of some articles available. (Wilson)

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 60,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Electronic

Index of articles with full text, mostly in management and labor studies, in journals published by MCB University Press.

Restricted Access Electronic Campus Use Only

A full text database which contains more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. 

Campus Use Only Internet Only

The term American studies encompasses a vast range of disciplines, all of which, describe the cultures of the United States. In recent years comparative studies of Canada and Latin America have been incorporated.

This eJournal is only available from computers on campus.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Restricted Access Electronic

Please see the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology in the Campbell Library Rm. 219, Electronic Reference Room.

Electronic

Index to Elsevier's Compendex database of engineering literature (1969-present). Includes scholarly literature in bioengineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, materials science, mechanical engineering, and structural engineering. Some articles are available in full-text.

Restricted Access Internet Only Electronic

Index to articles (identified as "EJ") and documents (identified as "ED") on all aspects of education. Documents with an ED# are available in Periodicals Department, microfiche 2nd floor.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Curriculum and reference resources in the sciences, history, geography, health, and careers. Targeted to students, teachers, and general readers.

Electronic

World News Digest

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 48,000 resource entries, and much more!

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Film & Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of 301).

Electronic

Includes databases ArticleFirst (source of articles), ECO (journal Articles), and WorldCat (books etc.).

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Index to periodicals in biology, chemistry, earth sciences, health and medicine, nutrition, and physics.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Small collection at this time, but steadily growing. Includes hundreds of Civil War photos and a slide show of images on the theme of racial stereotypes.

Free/Public Access

Google Scholar provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

GPO

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

U. S. Government Publications

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Access to the entire text of The Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion of Western Art (2001). Contains over 45,000 articles and 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles. Updates, new articles, and new image links are added on an on-going basis.

Electronic

Continuously updated web version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed., 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed., 2002). Articles include bibliographies and composers’ works lists. Includes links to related sites, sound archives, illustrations.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Provides clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Access the full text of nearly 550 journals in the health sciences with a focus on nursing and allied health.

Electronic

Database of primary source materials from 1972 forward. Approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of each year are presented.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Abstracts of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present.

Electronic

Access to thousands of books articles reports, biographies, maps and photos.

Electronic

Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering public and non-public companies and key executives; delivers in-depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. (Included in the ABI general search.)

Electronic

An index to articles published 1907 – 1984 in the humanities and social sciences.  This database contains citations only, no full text.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Index to periodicals in art, history, literature, linguistics, philosophy and religion. Coverage is from 1974 to date.

Electronic

Index to the journals published by the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Full-text available for articles published since 1998 in journal titles that Rowan University subscribes to.

Internet Only Electronic

In the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of more than 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.

Contains document descriptions from more than 600 periodicals and from Festschriften and congress publications; updated nightly.

Electronic

Index to the journals published by the Institute of Physics. Full text is available only for the Historical Archive, Astronomical Journal, and Astrophysics Journal.

Electronic

Indexing and abstracts for many international music periodicals with some coverage from 1874. Full text for over 110 journals with current file and backfile coverage going back to the first published issue for a number of core music journals. Subjects covered: history, education, performance, composition, theory, ethnomusicology, popular music.

Electronic

Provides indexing, detailed abstracts, and full text for articles covering a wide range of subjects in the performing arts, including dance, film, drama, opera, stagecraft, comedy, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and television, from 1864 to the present.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

A new, free online journal that is being jointly published by the Acquisition Research Program at Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, CA and Cranfield University at the Defense Academy of the United Kingdom.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

A not-for-profit research project created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). This resource currently consists of six different databases.

Electronic

Searches participating public and academic library catalogs in the state of New Jersey for specific book holdings.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Archive of full-text journal articles in African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, Classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, geography, history, languages and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, Music, Philosophy, Political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Electronic Restricted Access Campus Use Only

Online reference source for chemical engineering and chemistry.  In Library Use only (Rm. 219 Electronic Reference Room).

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

“should always be consulted when looking for images relating to US history.”

Restricted Access Internet Only Electronic

Provides a completely interactive learning platform of practice tests for:

  • BUSINESS WRITING SUCCESS SKILLS
  • GRADUATE SCHOOL ENTRANCE EXAMS
  • HIGH SCHOOL WRITING SKILLS IMPROVEMENT
  • JOB & CAREER TEST PREPARATION
  • JOB SEARCH AND SUCCESS SKILLS
  • MATH SKILLS IMPROVEMENT
  • READING SKILLS IMPROVEMENT
  • RESUME AND INTERVIEWING SUCCESS SKILLS
  • SKILLS IMPROVEMENT COURSES
  • SKILLS IMPROVEMENT COURSES
  • SKILLS IMPROVEMENT WITH SPANISH INSTRUCTIONS
  • TEACHING
  • TECHNICAL AND CAREER COLLEGE SKILLS
  • TOEFL
  • U.S. CITIZENSHIP
  • WRITING IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM
  • WRITING SKILLS IMPROVEMENT
  • WRITING SKILLS IMPROVEMENT
Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Full text database of news, business, and legal sources with some medical information and general references.

Printed Copy Electronic

Indexes articles and book reviews in key library and information science periodicals. Full-text coverage begins in 1994 for some titles. (Wilson)

Paper 1983-1994 w/bound, level 1, 1933-1942, 1949-1981, Room 218 Bookshelves.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Information on authors and their works, plot summaries book reviews, poems, short stories and more.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 175 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

A literature reference database; includes access to content from Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and a variety of other online sources of literary criticism and biography.

Electronic

Contains the full-text of poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches.

Internet Only Free/Public Access

A digital library of more than 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas included education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Made possible by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Electronic

A compiled business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create Company, Industry and Country Profiles. Can be searched by text or keyword, across the entire database; select searches by industry sector, product type, geography or time period; search results grouped according to product type and display synopses; advanced browse functionality; specialist Query Language.

More than 1,730 reference publications, nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, and 100,554 primary source documents
Restricted Access Internet Only Electronic

The American Mathematical Society’s index to mathematical literature. Contains references, abstracts, and reviews from mathematical journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations. (WebSPIRS)

The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 100 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service. The data is updated daily.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Electronic Restricted Access Printed Copy

Reviews of standardized educational, psychological and vocational tests from the 9th edition of the MMY, 1985 to date.  The test, itself, is not included. Typical MMY test entries include descriptive information, one or two professional reviews, and reviewer references. To be reviewed in the MMY a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new, revised, or widely used since it last appeared in the MMY series. Beginning in The Fourteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook, tests also must provide sufficient documentation supporting their technical quality to meet criteria for review.

Paper copy 2nd floor Reference -- Z5814.P8B932 (yr)

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Index to articles and other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore. Covers subjects from prose to poetry, genres to literary forms, national literatures and regional dialects. VALE

Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history-from mid-15th century to the present.

Electronic
emusicquest provides The Music-In-Print Series® database for subscribers to search online - Sacred and Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Organ, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Chamber, Band, Brass, Handbell, Harp, Percussion, Recorder, Jazz, and Popular Music In Print!
Electronic
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals covering all styles and genres of classical and popular music using an internal subject-author guide. Cites book reviews, obituaries, news and articles about music, musicians, the music industry. Online coverage extends from 1976 through the present.
Electronic
Online version of the Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts. Includes detailed listings of worldwide arts organizations, including key contact information. Artists are indexed in alphabetical and categorical indices. Categories include artist managers, orchestras, opera companies, concert series, festivals, competitions, music schools and departments, record companies, facilities, services and products, and more. The Directory also provides music industry news, press releases, concert reviews, a calendar of events, and articles focusing on issues facing the international performing arts industry. There is also an online music industry career center.
Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access
Over eight million photos and graphic images, plus five million images in Presidential Libraries, and nine million aerial photos.
Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

A good source for popular culture materials. Images can be searched by keyword, but subject categories can simply be browsed.

Electronic

The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 55,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are 24 complete collections, each offering specialized insights. Integrated, they allow you to explore policy across several different areas at once. New collections are published annually by ProQuest and the National Security Archive.

Internet Only Free/Public Access

An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. The Archive won the 1999 George Polk Award, one of U.S. journalism's most prestigious prizes, for--in the words of the citation--"piercing the self-serving veils of government secrecy, guiding journalists in the search for the truth and informing us all."

The Archive obtains its materials through a variety of methods, including the Freedom of Information act, Mandatory Declassification Review, presidential paper collections, congressional records, and court testimony. Archive staff members systematically track U.S. government agencies and federal records repositories for documents that either have never been released before, or that help to shed light on the decision-making process of the U.S. government and provide the historical context underlying those decisions.

Provides online full-text access to a core package of international scientific research journals published by Nature Publishing Group. The flagship journal, Nature, is the world's most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal, and has been published weekly since 1869. Nature journals in Rowan University's subscription package may also be accessed by individual journal title through the library catalog. 

 

Electronic

Provides streaming audio of music recordings, including over 455,000 tracks and 32,135 discs, and 132 record labels. Genres include classical, jazz, folk, and some non-western world music.

Electronic

Streaming audio service providing nearly 20,000 tracks of jazz, blues and R&B from Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz including Prestige, Debut, Riverside, Stax, Volt, Specialty, and Pablo, along with Prophone and Proprius. Covers international jazz.

Electronic

A collection of e-books in a variety of subject areas.

Internet Only Electronic Library Access Only Free/Public Access CD-ROM Only

In accordance with the contract between the State and LexisNexis, the New Jersey Register (back to the July 3, 1995 issue) and the New Jersey Administrative Code can also be accessed on-line, on a subscription or transactional fee basis, at www.lexis.com. In addition, LexisNexis provides free on-line public access to the New Jersey Administrative Code and the New Jersey Register at http://www.lexisnexis.com/njoal.

This resource is also available in the Campbell Library Government Documents, room 245.

For more information please see the New Jersey Office of Administrative Law, Division of Administrative Rules.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Some of the collections: Africana and Black History, from 16th C to present; After Columbus: 400 Years of Native American Portraiture; Turn of the Century Posters; Picturing America, 1497-1899; Prints, Maps, and Drawings Bearing on the New World; A New Nation: The Thomas Addis Emmet Collection of Illustrations Relating to the American Revolution and Early US History.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access Printed Copy

Full text access to the newspaper’s articles (1999 – present)

Restricted Access Electronic

Presents PDF pages of the newspaper, preserving the visual sense of the publication. (Proquest)

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).

Electronic Library Access Only Restricted Access

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

Part of Documenting the American South, "includes all known autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves in the United states to 1920."

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Use this resource to find new fiction books based on books you have read or areas of interest.

Free/Public Access

OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources. OAIster provides access to digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata (records) using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting).

Digital resources can range from an old-time advertisement of electric refrigerators (from the Library of Congress American Memory project) to Harriet Beecher Stowe memoirs (from the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service Making of America collection).

Digital resources include items such as:

  • digitized (i.e., scanned) books and articles
  • born-digital texts
  • audio files (e.g., wav, mp3)
  • images (e.g., tiff, gif)
  • movies (e.g., mp4, quicktime)
  • datasets (e.g., downloadable statistics files)
Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Electronic

Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations. 1972 to current. (CSA) VALE

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Multimedia resources and professional development for America's prek-12 educators.

A bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. (Ovid)

Searchable access to the full-text of a selection of electronic journals on philosophy.

Electronic
Physical fitness, health, sports medicine. 1970 to current. (CSA) VALE
Electronic

Index to the worldwide liberature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PSTSD) and other mental-health consequences of traumatic events.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

A multimedia online archive spearheaded by the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum in Austin, Texas, the collaborative effort presents interactive timelines of each president’s life that include documents, diaries, maps, photo galleries, audio recordings, video clips.

Electronic

Includes the full text of 520 high quality education journals.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Full text database of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. JStor can be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature.

Electronic

A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the full array of APA journals as well as articles from several organizations allied with the APA. Coverage spans 1985 to present. (Ebsco) VALE

A full-text database of scholarly books published by the American Psychological Association. Also includes some classic books from other publishers.

Electronic

From the American Psychological Association (APA), this is the Web version of Psychological Abstracts from 1887 to the present.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Since 1995, Refdesk is a free and family-friendly web site that indexes and reviews quality, credible, and current web-based resources.  Refdesk has three goals: (1) fast access, (2) intuitive and easy navigation and (3) comprehensive content, rationally indexed.

Contains information on U.S and Canadian businesses, residential information compiled from white pages of telephone directories and information on U.S. health care providers.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Personal Database and Bibliography Creator (Rowan Univ. account required) Tutorial

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Daily updates provide comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications)

Electronic Free/Public Access

Summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions.

Research Insight

Electronic Library Access Only Restricted Access CD-ROM Only

Database of financial data from over 20,000 companies which can be used to create custom financial reports.

Please Note: This resource is only available in the Library Electronic Reference Room and in the Bunce Lab.

Research Starters - Education

Trial - Ends June 30, 2009

* Trial Availability (05/18/2009 - 06/30/2009)

Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts.

Resources for College Libraries (RCL), a collaboration between ACRL and Bowker publishing, is a core list for academic libraries and the successor to the third edition of Books for College Libraries, published in 1988. This collection of recommended titles serves as the basis for a suite of resources for curriculum-development, student research, reference, and bibliographic instruction. RCL can be accessed by Subject, LC Class, Title, Author, Award Name, Award Category, Publisher, and Series Titles.

Electronic
Rowan University Theses 1995 to Present (full text). Searchable by title or by author.
Electronic
SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals.

Science Accelerator is a gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Science Accelerator was developed and is made available by OSTI as a free public service.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Electronic

A comprehensive resource for all of the sciences

This is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies including research and development results. It searches across the DOE (Department of Energy), DOD (Department of Defense), NASA and EPA (Environmental Protection Agency) databases that were previously covered by the GrayLit Network.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Full text database of scientific, medical, business, behavioral and social science journals published by Elsevier.

Library Access Only Electronic

A new SciFinder Web client is available.

YOU MUST FiRST REGISTER IN ORDER TO USER SciFinder Scholar.

Create Your Account

Log Into SciFinder

Use your new SciFinder username and password to access SciFinder

Login

SciFinder Scholar allows you to explore the journal and patent literature for information about chemical substances and reactions and chemistry-related research topics. You must register and create your own account and password to use this database, which is for academic, non-commercial use only (see license agreement for details). Our subscription allows only one concurrent user. Full text access is available for those journals to which we have electronic subscriptions.

SCORE

Counselors to America's Small Business
Internet Only Free/Public Access

SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" is a nonprofit association dedicated to educating entrepreneurs and the formation, growth and success of small business nationwide. SCORE is a resource partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Electronic

An encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. Includes the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, the Library of African Music, and the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology.

Internet Only Electronic Free/Public Access

A searchable database with information on American portraits in public and private collections in the US and abroad.

Electronic

Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. 1979 to current.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Index to publications in the fields of sociology, social sciences and related disciplines from 1986 to the present.

Internet Only Free/Public Access

Sources: A National Library of Ireland database for Irish research, contains over 180,000 records for Irish manuscripts, and articles in Irish periodicals. Search the National Library's manuscripts cataloged to the 1980s; Irish manuscripts held in other libraries worldwide from the 1940s to the 1970s. Included as well is an Index to articles, reviews and other content contained in over 150 Irish periodicals (download a full list of the journals ) up to 1969.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Provides access to articles on sport & exercise science, sport management, physical education, physical, occupational & recreational therapy, kinesiology and human movement studies, sport psychology, leisure studies, and sport law.  Full-text articles dating back to 1985.

Electronic Library Access Only CD-ROM Only

A database of reports and statistics for the U.S. business, economic and trade community; contains items like the National Trade Data Bank.

STAT-USA website is available from any computer.  However, full access to STAT-USA data is available only in Rm. 218 Electronic Reference Workstations 1 and 2 (2d Floor) in Campbell Library.

Restricted Access Electronic

Provides research on all facets of tax issues, from income to estate.

Federal legislative information since 1995 made available by the Library of Congress.

Search the U.S. Patent and Trademark databases for issued patents (full text since 1976, full-page image since 1790).

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

International Directory of Magazines, Journals, Newspapers, Newsletters.

This is the main portal for U.S. Government information and provides straight-forward access to many online federal government resources. Includes links to state and local government sites. "FAQ's" have been integrated into the search returns. Also, when searching for a Senator or Representative, there will be a special spotlight feature at the top of the search results that includes contact information, voting records, and other helpful links about the Senator or Representative.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Coverage 1982-current; the same coverage is available in the comprehensive business database ABI

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Covers the years from 1889 to 1987 and is presented in PDF files. More recent issues are available in ABI.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Collection of full text journals in science and other fields.

Note: only subscribed journals will return full-text when PDF is selected.

Printed Copy

This quarterly index abstracts significant research in sixty periodicals dedicated to issues relevant to women's movements and behavior.

Paper: 1974-present, Room 218 Bookshelves

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Combines detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print.

Internet Only Electronic Restricted Access

The largest database of library holdings in the world.

Restricted Access Electronic Campus Use Only

A financial database that allows you to search for international companies using various criteria. See Compact D for North American companies. (No new data is being added to this resource.) 

Electronic

Covers international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. 1975 – current.

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of global science sources. The WorldWideScience Alliance, a multilateral partnership, consists of participating member countries and provides the governance structure for WorldWideScience.org.

Internet Only Free/Public Access

Yahoo! Finance is an open web site accessible by anyone anywhere.  It provides quick and easy stock searching, as well as graphical depictions of the market summaries in the US, Europe, and Asia.  A user can even set up a portfolio—real or imagined!—for a daily report on investments.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W Y All

Database Access Legend

  • Campus Use Only Campus Use Only
  • CD-ROM Only CD-ROM Only
  • Electronic Electronic
  • Free/Public Access Free/Public Access
  • Internet Only Internet Only
  • Library Access Only Library Access Only
  • Printed Copy Printed Copy
  • Restricted Access Restricted Access

Find e-Journals

Citation Linker


Rowan UniveristyHome | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Rowan University | Campus Portal | Library Staff

For questions and issues regarding the library website and/or online services please email us