E-Resources A-to-Z
Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Index to periodicals in biology, chemistry, earth sciences, health and medicine, nutrition, and physics.
Small collection at this time, but steadily growing. Includes hundreds of Civil War photos and a slide show of images on the theme of racial stereotypes.
Google Scholar provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
U. S. Government Publications
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Access to the entire text of The Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion of Western Art (2001). Contains over 45,000 articles and 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles. Updates, new articles, and new image links are added on an on-going basis.
Continuously updated web version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed., 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed., 2002). Articles include bibliographies and composers’ works lists. Includes links to related sites, sound archives, illustrations.