Subject Librarians

A professional librarian with expertise in the subject area is designated as the liaison to each academic department. The librarians assigned to each department are listed below.

Research Appointments

Students or faculty needing in-depth help finding library sources for research papers and projects may contact the appropriate subject librarian listed below to make an appointment.

Purchase Requests

Requests for the library to purchase books, journals, and other materials should go through your departmental library liaison, who will forward them to the subject liaison. Each academic department has designated a faculty liaison to the library. If you are a new faculty member and are not sure who your departmental liaison is, contact your department chair. The library offers an e-mail alert system for newly published books in each subject area; contact your subject liaison to find out about signing up for this service.

Curriculum Proposals

The University Senate Curriculum Committee requires that proposals for new courses and programs be accompanied by a Library Resource form (revised 11/13/2013), which evaluates the need for additional library resources to support the new course or program. Please forward all Library Resource forms to your designated subject liaison for signature, allowing several days for a careful evaluation.


Library Liaisons

LibrarianPrograms
Sharon An
856-256-4968
an@rowan.edu
  • Asian Studies concentration
  • Economics
  • Foreign Languages & Literatures
Denise Brush
856-256-4977
brush@rowan.edu
  • Computer Science
  • Engineering (Biomedical, Chemical, Civil, Electrical, Mechanical)
  • Mathematics
  • Physics & Astronomy
Christine Davidian
856-256-4965
davidian@rowan.edu
  • Communication Studies
Deborah Gaspar
856-256-4963
gaspar@rowan.edu
  • Educational Services & Leadership
  • Language, Literacy & Special Education
  • Teacher Education
Samantha Kennedy
856-256-4642
kennedysd@rowan.edu
  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Health & Exercise Science
  • Nursing
  • Translational Biomedical Sciences

Michelle Kowalsky
856-256-4972 
kowalsky@rowan.edu

  • Accounting/Finance
  • Management/Entrepreneurship
  • Marketing/MIS
  • New Media concentration
  • Public Relations/Advertising
Robert Lipartito
856-256-3543
lipartito@rowan.edu
  • Art
  • Radio/Television/Film
  • Theater & Dance
Phyllis Meredith
856-256-4974
meredith@rowan.edu
  • Africana Studies
  • English
  • Psychology
  • Sociology & Anthropology
Marjorie Morris
856-256-3542
morrism@rowan.edu
  • Journalism
  • Music
  • Women & Gender Studies
  • Writing Arts
Ella Strattis
856-256-4975
strattis@rowan.edu
  • American Studies/Liberal Studies
  • Geography & Environmental Studies
  • Honors Program
  • International Studies concentration

Bruce Whitham

856-256-4979

whitham@rowan.edu

  • History
  • Law & Justice Studies
  • Philosophy & Religion Studies
  • Political Science